Dumb things couples fight about OR How Skype can harm your relationship

Last night my husband was upset with me during our Skype session because he “didn’t like my expression”.

The first annoying expression that set him off was the impatient looking upward attached to a sigh. My husband is a the kind of guy who likes to take 3 minutes to tell you something that normally would take 30 seconds.  On a simple phone call I can multi-task with the occasional “uh-huh” or “yep” inserted every 20 seconds or so.  He gets to share his story; I get two things done at once.  It’s a win-win.  On Skype, you just have to sit and watch and there’s nowhere to go and nothing to multitask with.  Sometimes I just can’t control myself and the dreaded “Cut to the chase!” slips from my lips.  That, with upward glance with sigh attached does not go over well.

My second annoying expression occurred when said husband started lecturing me about the finer points of luggage. A little background:  I’m perfectly capable of using a scale.  I also work for an airline and am very aware of oversized bag fees.  It’s a daily topic of conversation at work.  I didn’t feel that the lecture from him was warranted.  So when I mentioned to him that “this is not my first rodeo”, one of HIS favorite phrases, he proceeded to double down even more about what not to do when packing my bags for my trip to Abu Dhabi.  At this point, I’m really biting my tongue and wanting to tell him to bugger off, but I control myself and instead hang my head in semi-frustration.  Bad move.  This really set him off.  Now if this had just been a phone call instead of a Skype call, I could have said “yes, dear” several times, and then when I got off the phone gone and done whatever the heck I wanted to do in the first place and hanging head and eye rolls would have gone unseen – no harm, no foul.

In an effort to keep peace in my marriage I am not going to click on the little video camera anymore, only the little telephone. I am not very good at being expression-less, and Skype is not doing me any favors right now.

In the meantime, I will work harder on my inoffensive adoring wife expressions.

adoring wife

adoring wife 2

adoring wife 3

About HeartFacesWest

Working Empty-Nest Wife/Mom/Grammie. Soon to be a trailing spouse and moving 8,194 miles across the world. Trying to document the experience from preparing to move and all the changes and opportunities that I will experience.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

